Alumni News


Alumni Dr. Orlin Vakarelov awarded ACLS New Faculty Fellowship

Dr. Orlin Vakarelov, 2011 graduate of the Philosophy Department, was awarded a 2012 ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies) New Faculty Fellowship.

The New Faculty Fellows program allows recent Ph.D.s in the humanities to take up two-year positions at university and colleges across the United States where their particular research and teaching expertise augment departmental offerings.


Michelle Jenkins: Winner of the 2009 Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship in Greek Sudies

The winner of the 2009 Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship in Greek Studies is Michelle Jenkins, a graduate student in the UA Philosophy Department.

Jenkins, who grew up in North Pole, Alaska, received her B.A. from Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster, Pa., majoring in philosophy with a minor in classical Greek. She is currently a sixth-year graduate student in the Department of Philosophy where she is working on her dissertation, "Seekers of Wisdom, Lovers of Truth: A Study of Plato's Philosopher," under the guidance of Julia Annas and Rachana Kamtekar.

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links