Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
Alex Schaefer's picture
Alex Schaefer
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: schaefer1@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138
[more information]
David Schmidtz's picture
David Schmidtz
Kendrick Prof of Philosophy (SBS), Eller Chair of Service-Dominant Logic (College of Management)
Email: schmidtz@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-7681
Office: Social Sciences 237A
[more information]
Matt Schuler's picture
Matt Schuler
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: schuler@email.arizona.edu

I'm a philosophy Ph.D. student whose interests lie primarily in philosophy of science, artificial intelligence, and philosophy of mind, but I also dabble in things like medical ethics.

Before coming to Arizona, I studied at a seldom-known but lovely little school called...
[more information]

Lucia Schwarz's picture
Lucia Schwarz
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: luciaschwarz@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130

I am a PhD student and Teaching Assistant at the philosophy department. My main philosophical interests are in metaethics.


[more information]
Dan C. Shahar's picture
Dan C. Shahar
Visiting Assistant Professor
Email: dcshahar@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
Office: Social Sciences 138

I am a Visiting Assistant Professor and PhD candidate in the philosophy department and a fellow at the Center for the Philosophy of Freedom. My research focuses on the implications of environmental challenges for liberal societies and their members.


[more information]
Wes Siscoe's picture
Wes Siscoe
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: rwsiscoe@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138

Before coming to Arizona, I received an MA in philosophy from Northern Illinois University. I work primarily in formal and traditional epistemology and philosophy of language, but I also have research interests in normativity, metaphysics, and political philosophy.


[more information]
Houston Smit's picture
Houston Smit
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Email: smit@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 220C
[more information]
Nelson Smith's picture
Nelson Smith
MA Program
Email: njsmith1@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Eric Solis's picture
Eric Solis
MA Program
Email: esolis0716@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 138

I am a M.A. student in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Arizona. While my philosophical interests range widely, I am especially interested in ancient philosophy, moral and political philosophy, moral psychology, and the history of philosophy. Broadly, I am interested in the...
[more information]

Hillel Steiner's picture
Hillel Steiner
Visiting Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: hillel.steiner@manchester.ac.uk
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Freedom Center - Marshall 280
[more information]
Vojko Strahovnik's picture
Vojko Strahovnik
Adjunct Instructor
Email: vstrahovnik@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520 339 5196
Office: Social Sciences 218

Vojko Strahovnik, PhD

currently Visiting Lecturer at the Universty of Arizona, Department of Philosophy
Assistant Professor and Researcher in Philosophy at the University of Ljubljana; 2016 – Fulbright visiting scholar at University of Arizona

 


[more information]
Eyal Tal's picture
Eyal Tal
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: eyaltal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138
[more information]
Mark Timmons's picture
Mark Timmons
Professor of Philosophy
Email: mtimmons@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.621.7105
FAX: 520.621.9559
Office: SSCI 226A

Timmons joined the Arizona Department in 2004.  He has published widely in ethics, particularly in the areas of metaethics and Kant's ethics.

 

 

 

 


[more information]
Joseph Tolliver's picture
Joseph Tolliver
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Email: tolliver@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 204
[more information]
John Tomasi's picture
John Tomasi
Visiting Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: john_tomasi@brown.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Freedom Center - Marshall 280

John Tomasi is Professor of Political Science at Brown University and Director of the Political Theory Project at Brown University.


[more information]
Michael Truelsen's picture
Michael Truelsen
[more information]
Jason Turner's picture
Jason Turner
Associate Professor
Email: jasonturner@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 626-0607
Office: Social Sciences 208
[more information]
Robert Van't Hoff's picture
Robert Van't Hoff
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: robertvanthoff@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130

I'm a philosophy PhD student. My background is mainly in political philosophy and moral philosophy (and some philosophy of law), but currently I am also interested in epistemology, metaphysics and philosophy of mind. 


[more information]
Mario Villarreal-Diaz's picture
Mario Villarreal-Diaz
Adjunct Associate Professor; Associate Director, Center for the Philosophy of Freedom
Email: villarreal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Social Sciences 227
[more information]
Alex von Stein's picture
Alex von Stein
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: vonstein@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
[more information]
Steven Wall's picture
Steven Wall
Professor of Philosophy
Email: stevenwall@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 626-7676
Office: Social Sciences 233
[more information]
Robert Wallace's picture
Robert Wallace
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: rhwallace@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130

I am a fourth year doctoral student. My primary research interests are issues at the intersection of metaphysics and ethics, such as the problem of free will and the nature of moral responsibility. I am also...
[more information]

Bjorn Wastvedt's picture
Bjorn Wastvedt
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: wastvedt@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130

I am a philosophy Ph.D. student at the University of Arizona. My interests lie in ancient philosophy, moral psychology, and the history of ethics.


[more information]
Xinyu Wei's picture
Xinyu Wei
MA Program
Email: xinyuwei@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Jonathan Weinberg's picture
Jonathan Weinberg
Professor of Philosophy
Email: jmweinberg@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 621-9401
FAX: (520) 621-9559
Office: Soc. Sci. 200
[more information]
Margaret B Weiser's picture
Margaret B Weiser
Adjunct Instructor
Email: mbweiser@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 226B
[more information]
Ed Weiser's picture
Ed Weiser
Adjunct Instructor
Email: edweiser@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 226B
[more information]
Sean Whitton's picture
Sean Whitton
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: spwhitton@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138

Ethics, political philosophy, the philosophy of maths & science


[more information]
Sarah Williams's picture
Sarah Williams
Advisor
Email: sjw7@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1965
Office: Social Sciences 108

You can schedule an appointment through WiseAdvise: PHIL majors or PPEL majors
Include your major...
[more information]

Karolina Wisniewska's picture
Karolina Wisniewska
Email: karolinaw@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138

I am a first year doctoral student in the Philosophy Department at the University of Arizona, where I am also a University Fellow. My research focuses on the philosophical debate on global justice and its implications for substantive issues of international law. My broader research interests...
[more information]

Pages

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links