Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
David Schmidtz's picture
David Schmidtz
Kendrick Prof of Philosophy (SBS), Eller Chair of Service-Dominant Logic (College of Management), Director of the Freedom Center
Email: schmidtz@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8439
Office: Social Sciences 228A
[more information]
Matt Schuler's picture
Matt Schuler
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: schuler@email.arizona.edu

I'm a philosophy Ph.D. student whose interests lie primarily in philosophy of science, artificial intelligence, and philosophy of mind, but I also dabble in things like medical ethics.

Before coming to Arizona, I studied at a seldom-known but lovely little school called...
[more information]

Will Schumacher's picture
Will Schumacher
Graduate Student
Email: wschumacher@email.arizona.edu

I am a philosophy PhD student at the University of Arizona. I am interested in political philosophy and social epistemology.


[more information]
Lucia Schwarz's picture
Lucia Schwarz
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: luciaschwarz@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130

I am a PhD student and Teaching Assistant at the philosophy department. My main philosophical interests are in metaethics.


[more information]
Simone Sepe's picture
Simone Sepe
Professor of Law, PhD Student
Email: simone.sepe@law.arizona.edu
[more information]
Dan C. Shahar's picture
Dan C. Shahar
Visiting Assistant Professor
Email: dcshahar@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
Office: Social Sciences 138

I am a Visiting Assistant Professor and PhD candidate in the philosophy department and a fellow at the Center for the Philosophy of Freedom. My research focuses on the implications of environmental challenges for liberal societies and their members.


[more information]
Jackie Sideris's picture
Jackie Sideris
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: jas503@email.arizona.edu

I'm a first-year graduate student in the philosophy department. My primary areas of philosophical interest include Aristotle's and the Stoics's ethics and other issues in virtue ethics. Secondarily, I work on topics related to disability, feminist philosophy, and the intersections...
[more information]

Wes Siscoe's picture
Wes Siscoe
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: rwsiscoe@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138

Before coming to Arizona, I received an MA in philosophy from Northern Illinois University. I work primarily in formal and traditional epistemology and philosophy of language, but I also have research interests in normativity, metaphysics, and political philosophy.


[more information]
Houston Smit's picture
Houston Smit
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Email: smit@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 220C
[more information]
Nelson Smith's picture
Nelson Smith
MA Program
Email: njsmith1@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Eric Solis's picture
Eric Solis
MA Program
Email: esolis0716@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 138

I am a M.A. student in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Arizona. While my philosophical interests range widely, I am especially interested in ancient philosophy, moral and political philosophy, moral psychology, and the history of philosophy. Broadly, I am interested in the...
[more information]

Hillel Steiner's picture
Hillel Steiner
Visiting Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: hillel.steiner@manchester.ac.uk
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Freedom Center - Marshall 280
[more information]
Mark Timmons's picture
Mark Timmons
Professor of Philosophy
Email: mtimmons@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.621.7105
FAX: 520.621.9559
Office: SSCI 226A

Timmons joined the Arizona Department in 2004.  He has published widely in ethics, particularly in the areas of metaethics and Kant's ethics.

 

 

 

 


[more information]
Joseph Tolliver's picture
Joseph Tolliver
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Email: tolliver@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 204
[more information]
John Tomasi's picture
John Tomasi
Visiting Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: john_tomasi@brown.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Freedom Center - Marshall 280

John Tomasi is Professor of Political Science at Brown University and Director of the Political Theory Project at Brown University.


[more information]
Michael Truelsen's picture
Michael Truelsen
[more information]
Robert Van't Hoff's picture
Robert Van't Hoff
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: robertvanthoff@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130

I'm a philosophy PhD student. My work is mainly in metaphysics, but I also have interests in epistemology and the philosophy of science. 


[more information]
Mario Villarreal-Diaz's picture
Mario Villarreal-Diaz
Adjunct Associate Professor; Associate Director, Center for the Philosophy of Freedom
Email: mariovillarreal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Social Sciences 227
[more information]
Alex von Stein's picture
Alex von Stein
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: vonstein@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
[more information]
Steven Wall's picture
Steven Wall
Professor of Philosophy
Email: stevenwall@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 626-7676
Office: Social Sciences 233
[more information]
Robert Wallace's picture
Robert Wallace
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: rhwallace@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130

I am currently completing my PhD. My primary research interests are issues at the intersection of metaethics, metaphyscis, and moral psychology, such as...
[more information]

Bjorn Wastvedt's picture
Bjorn Wastvedt
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: wastvedt@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 138

I am a Ph.D. candidate in Philosophy at the University of Arizona. My primary research and teaching interests are in ancient philosophy, moral psychology, and the history of ethics. I also work in normative ethics, applied ethics, political philosophy, and moral responsibility. My dissertation...
[more information]

Xinyu Wei's picture
Xinyu Wei
MA Program
Email: xinyuwei@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Jonathan Weinberg's picture
Jonathan Weinberg
Professor of Philosophy
Email: jmweinberg@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 626-0615
FAX: (520) 621-9559
Office: Soc. Sci. 220A
[more information]
Peg Brand Weiser's picture
Peg Brand Weiser
Adjunct Faculty
Email: mbweiser@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 216D

Dr. Brand Weiser is an artist, Emerita Associate Professor of Philosophy and Women's Studies at IUPUI (Indiana University Purdue University - Indianapolis), editor of Beauty Unlimited (2013), Beauty Matters (2000), and co-editor with Carolyn Korsmeyer of Feminism and...
[more information]

Edward Weiser's picture
Edward Weiser
Adjunct Faculty
Email: edweiser@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 216D

Dr. Weiser is a retired Gynecologic Oncologist with a life-long interest in medical ethics and has taught undergraduates, graduates and post-graduates as well as continuing education for practicing physicians.  Currently, though retired from clinical practice, he continues to teach courses in...
[more information]

Justin Westbrook's picture
Justin Westbrook
Graduate Student
Email: jnwestbrook@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Sean Whitton's picture
Sean Whitton
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: spwhitton@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138

Ethics and political philosophy


[more information]
Sarah Williams's picture
Sarah Williams
Advisor
Email: sjw7@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1965
Office: Social Sciences 108

You can schedule an appointment through WiseAdvise: PHIL majors or PPEL majors


[more information]
Karolina Wisniewska's picture
Karolina Wisniewska
Email: karolinaw@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138

I am a first year doctoral student in the Philosophy Department at the University of Arizona, where I am also a University Fellow. My research focuses on the philosophical debate on global justice and its implications for substantive issues of international law. My broader research interests...
[more information]

Pages

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links