Philosophy Club

The UA Undergraduate Philosophy Club is welcoming new members, as well as students interested in serving in officer positions for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Membership is open to anyone, philosophy major or otherwise! There are no dues.

The mission of the undergraduate philosophy club is to explore a wide array of philosophical topics, through speaker presentations from faculty and students, discussions, and outings—which may include going to conferences, film events, colloquia, and events so-sponsored with other campus clubs.

The Undergraduate Philosophy Club is a member in good standing of the Associated Students of the University of Arizona (ASUA).

Officers for the 2018-2019 Undergraduate Philosophy Club
President: Mariam Naweed
Vice-President: Dakota Jones
Co-Recorder: Sean Coleman
Co-Recorder: Chatham Dobbs
Co-Treasurer and Social Chair: Trevor McNamara
Co-Treasurer and Social Chair: Amber Rix

For more information about meeting times and locations, contact the faculty sponsor, Professor Laura Howard:

More information about the officers

Mariam Naweed
President Mariam Naweed
Mariam is a 10,122-day old (& counting) baby super genius who grew up to be an average adult with few notable talents. Mariam is a fervent feminist who enjoys existentialist philosophy, aesthetics, and phenomenology as she indulges in weekly life crises, is moderately vain, and holds an abnormal preoccupation of experiencing the world as an infant does. She also holds interests in transcendentalism, eastern thought, and notions of the sublime.

Mariam’s current academic goals are to strengthen her flimsy grasp on symbolic and modal logic, continue pursuing her illustrations, and eventually finish her undergraduate degree. Future academic aspirations include: writing about the influences and disparagements that Eastern and Western ideologies play on one another and how those expressions are reflected through their art/culture, combining her illustrations with introductory philosophical concepts as short books for children of all ages, and hosting lectures to the public which combine all the best features of a TED talk with a rock concert.

Books of interest include The Tao of Pooh, The Little Prince, Me and Rumi: The Autobiography of Shams-i Tabrizi, and the symbolic logic smash hit One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish.

Dakota Jones
Vice President
My name is Dakota Jones. I am a senior in the UA philosophy department. I was born and raised in Dallas, Texas and moved to California at the age of eighteen. There I attended community college with a plan to major in Physics. I took an elective and quickly discovered that philosophy was asking the kind of questions that I wanted to spend my time thinking about. From there I became entrenched in Philosophy of Language and Metaphysics, interests that have stuck with me for four years and a move to Tucson. I am currently working on a thesis concerning modal semantics and the ongoing debate about identity across possible worlds. I hope to continue my studies and attend graduate school.


Sean Coleman
Co-RecorderSean Coleman
Sean Coleman is currently a junior at the University of Arizona, majoring in Philosophy with a minor in the School of Government and Public Policy. Sean was born and raised in Tucson, and graduated from University High School in 2014. Sean began as an Art and Visual Culture Education major, whom has since found a better home here within the Philosophy Department. Within the field, Sean is inquisitive on topics of Existentialism, Philosophy of Language, Aesthetics and Art Theory.

Chatham Dobbs
Co-RecorderChatham Dobbs
Chatham Dobbs is a philosophy major, student athlete (swimmer), and senior here at the UA. He decided to declare philosophy as his major after taking an intro class freshman year with Professor Horgan. Currently, he is interested in contemporary debates in the Philosophy of Mind.  Aside from researching in philosophy, Chatham likes to spend his free time doing leisurely activities with close friends and playing fetch with his cat. After graduating this upcoming spring, he plans to take a year to himself to contemplate future possibilities.


Trevor McNamara
Co-Treasurer and Social ChairTrevor McNamara
Trevor McNamara is a sophomore at the U of A. He grew up in New Jersey, but moved to Arizona his sophomore year and attended a jesuit high school. he is looking to become a PPEL major in spring, and is excited to be a part of philosophy club. He looks to have a focus on community service and public outreach. At U of A, Trevor is an active member of the honors college and was in Primus last year. He's really excited to meet new people and gain new perspectives through  common interest of philosophy.

Amber Rix
Co-Treasurer and Social ChairAmber Rix
Amber Rix is a senior this year majoring in Philosophy and double minoring in Business Administration and Classics. She is primarily interested in ethics, ancient philosophy from Socrates up until —and especially— the stoics, metaphysics, and the issues regarding free will. Outside of philosophy, she enjoys reading lengthy fiction novels, writing, and playing rugby.



Key Word(s) of the Page: 

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links