University of Arizona Professor Shaun Nichols and Yale University Professor Josh Knobe have been awarded a grant for 2011-2012 under the title "Experimental Philosophy and the Underpinnings of Free Will." Their work is supported by the project "Free Will: Empirical and Philosophical Investigations" administered by Professor Al Mele of Florida State University under a... Read more

Post date: Thu, 06/23/2011 - 13:50

Professor Jenann Ismael has been awarded a Scholarly Conversation Grant from the National Humanities Center to stage a national conversation among scholars on the topic of Collective Rational Decision Making, especially in context of addressing important and pressing national and global issues.  The conversation will occur at the National Humanities Center on dates in the upcoming academic year soon to be determined.  Participants will include:

Post date: Thu, 06/23/2011 - 10:11

Beginning May 16, 2011, the Philosophy Department is pleased to offer an exciting new accelerated masters program: the Accelerated Master of Arts in Philosophy (AMP in Philosophy).

The Accelerated Master of Arts in Philosophy Program (AMP in Philosophy) will enable academically talented UA undergraduates to complete the B.A. and M.A. in philosophy after five years of study beginning with the student’s freshman year as an undergraduate.  This program is intended both for... Read more

Post date: Wed, 06/22/2011 - 14:46

Professor David Owen has been invited to give a lecture on David Hume at a meeting of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters on April 7, 2011, as well as to address the University of Oslo`s "Seminar in the Theory of Science" and the "Centre for the Study of Mind in Nature," some of the university`s Centres of Excellence.  He was also invited to present a paper at the joint University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill/ Kings College of London Philosophy Conference on May 13-15, 2011.

Post date: Wed, 06/22/2011 - 14:42


The Philosophy Department joins with Political Science and Economics to offer an exciting new major: Philosophy, Politics, Economics, and Law.

The PPEL major degree is an interdisciplinary undergraduate major of the very highest quality giving students, within a major research university, an undergraduate experience of the sort typically identified with the most successful honors colleges or outstanding liberal arts institutions.

The PPEL major draws on established... Read more

Post date: Wed, 06/22/2011 - 14:13


The winner of the 2009 Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship in Greek Studies is Michelle Jenkins, a graduate student in the UA Philosophy Department.

Jenkins, who grew up in North Pole, Alaska, received her B.A. from Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster, Pa., majoring in philosophy with a minor in classical Greek. She is currently a sixth-year graduate student in the Department of Philosophy where she is working on her dissertation, "Seekers of Wisdom, Lovers of Truth: A Study... Read more

Post date: Wed, 06/22/2011 - 14:10


Jerry Gaus, the James E. Rogers Professor of Philosophy, has been awarded the Gregory Kavka Prize in Political Philosophy by the American Philosophical Association.

The Kavka award is among the highest distinctions within the important area of Political Philosophy.  The award memorializes the late Professor Gregory Kavka and is co-sponsored by the University of California, Irvine, where Professor Kavka was a distinguished member of the Department of Philosophy.

Jerry's... Read more

Post date: Wed, 06/22/2011 - 14:07


College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links