Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
Jason Turner's picture
Jason Turner
Department Head; Professor
Email: jasonturner@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5046
Office: Social Sciences 207
[more information]
Julia Annas's picture
Julia Annas
Regents Professor of Philosophy
Email: jannas@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 123

SBS Faculty Spotlight Video


[more information]
Brandon Ashby's picture
Brandon Ashby
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: bashby@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7098
[more information]
Jacob Barrett's picture
Jacob Barrett
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: jacobbarrett@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130
I work primarily in social and political philosophy, though I also have research interests in normative ethics and in the history of both fields. See my website (www.jacobbarrett.org) for further information.

[more information]
Rhys Borchert's picture
Rhys Borchert
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: rhysborchert@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 138

I am a third year PhD student. Currently, I am focusing on rationality and formal epistemology, especially decision theory. Other research topics: conceptual foundations of quantum mechanics, normativity, and metaphilosophy. 


[more information]
Allen E Buchanan's picture
Allen E Buchanan
Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: allenb@duke.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Social Sciences 235

Allen E Buchanan was the James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at Duke University, as well as Investigator at the Institute for Genome Sciences and Policy (Duke) and Distinguished Research Fellow (Oxford Uehiro Centre).

My main research is in Political Philosophy, Philosophy...
[more information]

Cheshire Calhoun's picture
Cheshire Calhoun
Visiting Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: cheshire@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Freedom Center - Marshall 280

Cheshire Calhoun is Professor of Philosophy at Arizona State University.


[more information]
Josh Cangelosi's picture
Josh Cangelosi
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: jcangelosi@email.arizona.edu

My primary philosophical interests are in epistemology and moral responsibility theory. 


[more information]
Bryan Chambliss's picture
Bryan Chambliss
Email: bccham@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138
[more information]
Phoebe H. Y. Chan's picture
Phoebe H. Y. Chan
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: hychan@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Joel Chow's picture
Joel Chow
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: joelkenq@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Thomas Christiano's picture
Thomas Christiano
Professor of Philosophy
Email: thomasc@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 216C
[more information]
Ben Cilwick's picture
Ben Cilwick
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: bcilwick@email.arizona.edu

I am a Ph.D. student working on metaethics and environmental ethics.  Recently, I have been thinking and writing about wilderness.  Ongoing interests include theories of truth, pragmatism, and philosophy of language.  Before starting at the University of Arizona, I completed my M.A. in...
[more information]

Stewart Cohen's picture
Stewart Cohen
Professor of Philosophy
Email: cohens@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5058
Office: Social Sciences 115C
[more information]
Juan Comesaña's picture
Juan Comesaña
Professor of Philosophy
Email: comesana@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 216B
[more information]
Joseph Cowan's picture
Joseph Cowan
Professor of Philosophy Emeritus
Email: jlcowan@u.arizona.edu
[more information]
David C. Crosby's picture
David C. Crosby
Adjunct Instructor
Email: dccrosby@email.arizona.edu

I work mainly in political and social philosophy, and normative ethics.  In political philosophy, I study public reason theory, the economics of constitutional design, general political theory, and applied public choice theory. Increasingly, I am also interested in epistemology, especially the...
[more information]

Matt DeStefano's picture
Matt DeStefano
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: destefano@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130 or 138

I am interested in philosophy of mind/cognitive science, epistemology (especially social), and philosophy of religion among other areas.

In philosophy of mind/cognitive science, I am interested in perception (especially vision and audition), attention and its relation to consciousness,...
[more information]

Caleb Dewey's picture
Caleb Dewey
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: calebdewey@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 138

I am a first-year PhD student in philosophy (major) and cognitive science (minor) at the University of Arizona. My interests in philosophy stretch broadly from meta-ethics into metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, and cognitive science. These interests are...
[more information]

Uphaar Dooling's picture
Uphaar Dooling
MA Program
Email: udooling@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Shauna Garland's picture
Shauna Garland
Administrative Associate
Email: shaunagarland@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129, 520-621-5045
FAX: 520-621-9559
Office: Social Sciences 213
[more information]
Jerry Gaus's picture
Jerry Gaus
James E. Rogers Professor of Philosophy
Email: jerry@gaus.biz
TEL: (520) 621-4473
FAX: (520) 621-9559
Office: 217A Social Sciences
[more information]
Michael Gill's picture
Michael Gill
Professor of Philosophy
Email: gillm@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-0607
Office: Social Sciences 208
[more information]
Luke Golemon's picture
Luke Golemon
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: lgolemon@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Danielle Guzman's picture
Danielle Guzman
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: danielleguzman@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Avital Hazony's picture
Avital Hazony
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: ahazony@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130
[more information]
Richard Healey's picture
Richard Healey
Professor of Philosophy
Email: rhealey@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7109
FAX: 520-621-9559
Office: Social Sciences 214
[more information]
Terry Horgan's picture
Terry Horgan
Professor of Philosophy
Email: thorgan@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 209
[more information]
Laura Howard's picture
Laura Howard
Associate Professor of Philosophy (Career Track)/ Director of Undergraduate Studies
Email: lmhoward@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-0610
Office: Social Sciences 201

I am dedicated to promoting the academic careers of undergraduate majors in General Philosophy and Ethics. As the Director of Undergraduate Studies for these two majors, it gives me great joy to help students discover the lifelong rewards and benefits of studying in these important disciplines...
[more information]

Debbie Jackson's picture
Debbie Jackson
Business Manager, Senior
Email: debbiej@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520)621-1491
FAX: (520)621-9559
Office: Social Sciences 213B
[more information]

Pages

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links