Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
Michael Gill's picture
Michael Gill
Department Head; Professor of Philosophy
Email: gillm@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5046
Office: Social Sciences 207
[more information]
Julia Annas's picture
Julia Annas
Regents Professor of Philosophy
Email: jannas@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 123
[more information]
Richard J. Arneson's picture
Richard J. Arneson
Visiting Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: rarneson@ucsd.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Freedom Center - Marshall 280

Richard J. Arneson is Distinguished Professor and Valtz Family Professor at the University of California, San Diego.


[more information]
Brandon Ashby's picture
Brandon Ashby
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: bashby@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7098

I am interested in the epistemology and metaphysics of mind, the metaphysics of time and persistence, moral psychology, and action theory.

My primary area of research lies in the nature and reach of perceptual content as well as the semantic and epistemic relationships that hold between...
[more information]

Sameer Bajaj's picture
Sameer Bajaj
Email: sbajaj@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 138

I work primarily in political philosophy, ethics, and the philosophy of law. My academic website can be found here: http://www.sameer-bajaj.com/.


[more information]
Jacob Barrett's picture
Jacob Barrett
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: jacobbarrett@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130

I work primarily on political philosophy, moral philosophy, and practical rationality (with some metaethics on the side). I am especially interested in the relation between what people are currently doing and what they ought to do.


[more information]
Will Braynen's picture
Will Braynen
Adjunct Instructor
Email: wbraynen@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 105

Will Braynen comes to us from Citi FinTech to teach business ethics this fall of 2016.  In the past, Dr. Braynen has served as CTO of a software startup, as well as a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University.  He holds a Ph.D. in Philosophy from the University of Arizona (2012) and is also an...
[more information]

Piper L. Bringhurst's picture
Piper L. Bringhurst
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: piperb@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
Office: Social Sciences 130
[more information]
Allen E Buchanan's picture
Allen E Buchanan
Visiting Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: allenb@duke.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Freedom Center - Marshall 280

Allen E Buchanan is James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at Duke University, as well as Investigator at the Institute for Genome Sciences and Policy (Duke) and Distinguished Research Fellow (Oxford Uehiro Centre).


[more information]
Cheshire Calhoun's picture
Cheshire Calhoun
Visiting Research Professor, Department of Philosophy
Email: cheshire@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3129
Office: Freedom Center - Marshall 280

Cheshire Calhoun is Professor of Philosophy at Arizona State University.


[more information]
Patrick Callahan's picture
Patrick Callahan
Accelerated Master's Program
Email: pxc@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Josh Cangelosi's picture
Josh Cangelosi
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: jcangelosi@email.arizona.edu

My primary philosophical interests are in epistemology and moral responsibility theory. 


[more information]
Bryan Chambliss's picture
Bryan Chambliss
Email: bccham@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
Office: Social Sciences 138
[more information]
Hoi Yee Chan's picture
Hoi Yee Chan
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: hychan@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 130
[more information]
Joel Chow's picture
Joel Chow
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: joelkenq@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 138
[more information]
Thomas Christiano's picture
Thomas Christiano
Professor of Philosophy
Email: thomasc@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 216C
[more information]
Stewart Cohen's picture
Stewart Cohen
Professor of Philosophy
Email: cohens@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5058
Office: Social Sciences 115C
[more information]
Juan Comesaña's picture
Juan Comesaña
Associate Professor Philosophy
Email: comesana@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 127
[more information]
Joseph Cowan's picture
Joseph Cowan
Professor of Philosophy Emeritus
Email: jlcowan@u.arizona.edu
[more information]
David C. Crosby's picture
David C. Crosby
M.A. Program
Email: dccrosby@email.arizona.edu

I work mainly in political and social philosophy, normative ethics, and moral theory. In political philosophy, I study public reason theory, the economics of constitutional design, general political theory, and applied public choice theory.

Currently, I am attempting to construct a public...
[more information]

Matt DeStefano's picture
Matt DeStefano
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: destefano@email.arizona.edu
Office: 138 Social Sciences Building

I am interested in philosophy of mind/cognitive science, epistemology (especially social), and philosophy of religion among other areas.

In philosophy of mind/cognitive science, I am interested in perception (especially vision and audition), attention and its relation to consciousness,...
[more information]

Don Fallis's picture
Don Fallis
Adjunct Associate Professor; Professor, School of Information
Email: fallis@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3565
Office: Harvill 445C
[more information]
Jerry Gaus's picture
Jerry Gaus
James E. Rogers Professor of Philosophy
Email: jerry@gaus.biz
TEL: (520) 626-0615
FAX: (520) 621-9559
Office: 220B Social Sciences
[more information]
Adam Gjesdal's picture
Adam Gjesdal
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: agjesdal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7098
Office: Social Sciences 130
[more information]
Nathan Hallett's picture
Nathan Hallett
MA Program
[more information]
Richard Healey's picture
Richard Healey
Director of Graduate Studies; Professor of Philosophy
Email: rhealey@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7109
FAX: 520-621-9559
Office: Social Sciences 214
[more information]
Anthony Holbrook's picture
Anthony Holbrook
MA Program
[more information]
Terry Horgan's picture
Terry Horgan
Professor of Philosophy
Email: thorgan@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 209
[more information]
Laura Howard's picture
Laura Howard
Assistant Professor of Philosophy/ Director of Undergraduate Studies
Email: lmhoward@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-0610
Office: Social Sciences 201

I am dedicated to promoting the academic careers of undergraduate majors in General Philosophy, Ethics, and also Philosophy, Politics, Economics and Law (PPEL). As the Director of Undergraduate Studies for these two majors, it gives me great joy to help students discover the lifelong rewards and...
[more information]

Christopher Howard's picture
Christopher Howard
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: chrishoward@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 138
[more information]

Pages

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links