Faculty Members

Michael Gill's picture
Michael Gill
Department Head; Professor of Philosophy
Email: gillm@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5046
Office: Social Sciences 207
[more information]
Julia Annas's picture
Julia Annas
Regents Professor of Philosophy
Email: jannas@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 123
[more information]
Jonathan Anomaly's picture
Jonathan Anomaly
PPEL Gateway Coordinator and Assistant Professor at the Freedom Center
Office: Social Sciences 223
[more information]
Thomas Christiano's picture
Thomas Christiano
Professor of Philosophy
Email: thomasc@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 216C
[more information]
Stewart Cohen's picture
Stewart Cohen
Professor of Philosophy
Email: cohens@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5058
Office: Social Sciences 115C
[more information]
Juan Comesaña's picture
Juan Comesaña
Professor of Philosophy
Email: comesana@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 127
[more information]
Jerry Gaus's picture
Jerry Gaus
James E. Rogers Professor of Philosophy
Email: jerry@gaus.biz
TEL: (520) 626-0615
FAX: (520) 621-9559
Office: 220B Social Sciences
[more information]
Richard Healey's picture
Richard Healey
Director of Graduate Studies; Professor of Philosophy
Email: rhealey@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7109
FAX: 520-621-9559
Office: Social Sciences 214
[more information]
Terry Horgan's picture
Terry Horgan
Professor of Philosophy
Email: thorgan@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 209
[more information]
Laura Howard's picture
Laura Howard
Assistant Professor of Philosophy/ Director of Undergraduate Studies
Email: lmhoward@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-0610
Office: Social Sciences 201

I am dedicated to promoting the academic careers of undergraduate majors in General Philosophy, Ethics, and also Philosophy, Politics, Economics and Law (PPEL). As the Director of Undergraduate Studies for these two majors, it gives me great joy to help students discover the lifelong rewards and...
[more information]

Jenann Ismael's picture
Jenann Ismael
Professor of Philosophy
Email: jtismael@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 216D

Most of my work falls into two classes. The first class circumscribes central concerns of the philosophy of physics. Interests there include the structure of space and time, the foundations of quantum mechanics, the role of simplicity and symmetry in physics, and questions about the nature of...
[more information]

J. Christopher Maloney's picture
J. Christopher Maloney
Professor of Philosophy
Email: maloney@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 621-5046
FAX: (520) 621-9559
Office: Social Sciences 205

J. Christopher Maloney is interested in the philosophy of mind and cognitive science. He is a past Fellow of the National Endowment for the Humanities. Representative publications include:

  • The Mundane Matter of the Mental Language (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press,...
    [more information]
Michael McKenna's picture
Michael McKenna
Professor of Philosophy
Email: msmckenna@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 626-7672
Office: Social Sciences 229
[more information]
Shaun Nichols's picture
Shaun Nichols
Sherwin Scott Professor of Philosophy
Email: sbn@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 621-7099
Office: Social Sciences 226B
[more information]
Guido Pincione's picture
Guido Pincione
Professor of Philosophy
Email: pincione@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 626-7882
Office: Social Sciences 225
[more information]
Marga Reimer's picture
Marga Reimer
Professor of Philosophy
Email: reimer@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 216A
[more information]
Connie Rosati's picture
Connie Rosati
Professor of Philosophy
Email: csrosati@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 211A
[more information]
Dan Russell's picture
Dan Russell
Professor of Philosophy
Email: danrussell@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 626-7888
Office: Social Sciences 239A
[more information]
Carolina Sartorio's picture
Carolina Sartorio
Professor of Philosophy
Email: sartorio@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 115C1
[more information]
David Schmidtz's picture
David Schmidtz
Kendrick Prof of Philosophy (SBS), Eller Chair of Service-Dominant Logic (College of Management)
Email: schmidtz@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-7681
Office: Social Sciences 237A
[more information]
Houston Smit's picture
Houston Smit
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Email: smit@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 220C
[more information]
Mark Timmons's picture
Mark Timmons
Professor of Philosophy
Email: mtimmons@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.621.7105
FAX: 520.621.9559
Office: SSCI 226A

Timmons joined the Arizona Department in 2004.  He has published widely in ethics, particularly in the areas of metaethics and Kant's ethics.

 

 

 

 


[more information]
Joseph Tolliver's picture
Joseph Tolliver
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Email: tolliver@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 204
[more information]
Jason Turner's picture
Jason Turner
Associate Professor
Email: jasonturner@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 626-0607
Office: Social Sciences 208
[more information]
Steven Wall's picture
Steven Wall
Professor of Philosophy
Email: stevenwall@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 626-7676
Office: Social Sciences 233
[more information]
Jonathan Weinberg's picture
Jonathan Weinberg
Professor of Philosophy
Email: jmweinberg@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 621-9401
FAX: (520) 621-9559
Office: Soc. Sci. 200
[more information]
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links