News

Picture of Dr. AnnasCongratulations to Dr. Julia Annas for being one of two winners of the 2018-2019 Graduate College Teaching and Mentoring Awards. This award demonstrates her dedication to teaching and mentoring graduate students at the Unversity of Arizona.

Dr. Annas teaches classes on ancient philosophy, virtue... Read more

Post date: Fri, 02/22/2019 - 13:47

The Philosophy department is offering a variety of courses over the summer of 2019. Many of the courses are offered in more than one summer term. Explore summer classes in UAccess.
Registration begins April 1st
See the registration dates on the... Read more

Post date: Fri, 02/15/2019 - 10:00

The University of Arizona is one of 200 universities chosen by the Princeton Reviews as a 'Best Value'. Based on the return of investment the UofA was chosen for the fourth time in five years to be included in the list. For more information read the UA News Article.

Post date: Mon, 02/04/2019 - 09:06

The 2018 Rogers Prize for best article of the year in the British Journal for the History of Philosophy was awarded to Dr. Michael Gill for his article “Shaftesbury on life as a work of art” (Vol. 26, no. 6). The Rogers Prize is an annual award for the best article given out by the British Journal for the History of Philosophy in honor of the founding... Read more

Post date: Mon, 01/28/2019 - 10:24

Dr. Justin Weinberg, University of South Carolina, summarizes pay data collected by PayScale showing that Philosophy majors tend to make more money than other humanities manjors. For more details please see the article in Daily Nous.

... Read more

Post date: Mon, 01/07/2019 - 11:01

""

Wednesday, January 9: First day of classes
Wednesday, January 16: Last day to added classes in UAccess
Monday, January 21: Martin Luther King Day, No Classes
Tuesday, January 22: Last day to drop without a W
March 2-10: Spring recess, No Classes
Wednesday, May 1: Last day of Classes
May 3-9: Finals

... Read more

Post date: Thu, 01/03/2019 - 13:05

Registration for Winter 2018 and Spring 2019 is underway.

You can visit UAccess Student Center to find your registration time or visit the Registrar's Office website for the full schedule.
Spring 2019 Priority Registration Timeline
Schedule of Classes... Read more

Post date: Thu, 11/01/2018 - 14:18

The University of Arizona Philosophy Department ranked in the top 1% for the Most Popular philosophy programs by College Factual.

Philosophy also ranked in the top 10% in the 'Most Popular Online' and 'Top Ranked Veterans' categories for this school year.

 

... Read more

Post date: Thu, 09/13/2018 - 10:19

Monday, August 20: First day of classes
Monday, August 27: Last day to added classes in UAccess
November 22-25: Thanksgiving recess, no classes
Wednesday, December 5: Last day of Classes
December 7-13: Finals

Visit the Registrar's website for a full listing of dates and deadlines.

Post date: Wed, 08/01/2018 - 14:24

Congratulations to the graduating Philosophy students!

The spring 2018 convocation for the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences will be held on Thursday, May 10, 2018, 6-8:30 pm in the McKale Center.

For more information about the convocation ceremony visit the SBS website at https://convocation.sbs.arizona.edu/seniors or the University website at... Read more

Post date: Wed, 05/09/2018 - 16:24

Pages

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links